Horse Forum
Home Forum Home Search Horses for Sale Other ClassifiedsNEW! Post an Ad Help

Go Back   Horsetopia Forum > Miscellaneous Horse Topics > The Hitching Post
Note: Forum logins are completely separate
from your Horsetopia classifieds account or wishlist.

Old 12-13-2014, 05:12 PM   #1
Bombproof Member

Help Me Eat Healthy!

Everything I see and hear says that leafy greens are super important. I need ways to cook/recipes to make them; spinach, collard greens, kale, etc; that is good.
Can you help me out?

You don't have to be crazy to be my friend,
but it helps!!!
sundancer maiden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2014, 05:03 PM   #2
Yearling Member

I am a terrible cook and definitely not a foodie so I'm not much help. The restaurant where I used to work had a fantastic spinach salad with walnuts, dried cranberries, orange wedges and a raspberry vinaigrette and banana bread on the side. I add croutons to every salad, I just like salads with crunch.

There is a HT recipe sticky under the Random Stuff thread, you could scroll through that and see if there's anything that sounds delicious.

Good luck with that, its not so easy to change your eating habits!
Petaholic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2014, 09:36 PM   #3
Halter broke

Raw collards are delicious. You can bake and salt kale to make it unto chips that are actually pretty good as well.
Horsebackchic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2014, 12:07 AM   #4
Bombproof Member

Getting a rave review on something gives me more courage to try it! Raw is would be best, cooking seems to remove or reduce some of the nutrients so often.
Will be trying the Kale chips also.
Thanks for both of the responses!

but it helps!!!
Old 12-29-2014, 12:58 PM   #5
Halter broke

Almost every night I have a salad made of baby spinach leaves, a little bit of shredded Cheddar cheese, and light home-made salad dressing. Great way to get those "leafy greens"!

Saltys Red Rock ~ 2006 AQHA gelding ~ "Red"