Horse Forum
Home Forum Home Search Horses for Sale Other ClassifiedsNEW! Post an Ad Help

Go Back   Horsetopia Forum > Horse Advice > General Horse Advice
Note: Forum logins are completely separate
from your Horsetopia classifieds account or wishlist.

Old 10-20-2017, 11:28 PM   #1
Started

Thoughts on owning?

Hello, everyone!

I've been a member here for eleven years, but I haven't logged in for over two years. The most recent post I made here was explaining that we had to put my senior horse down, and after that, I just didn't really log in again.

I'm looking for honest opinions. I am in my late twenties, and I am married. My husband and I have no children yet (as we have battled with infertility for the last two years). I am an elementary school teacher, and I'm currently enrolled in a Master's program for education. We have three cats and a very high maintenance dog that requires a lot of attention. Basically, I'm super busy!

Yet, I keep finding myself wishing so desperately to own a horse again. It comes and it goes. Lately, I've been really captivated by the idea of it again, but I am not sure if it's something I should pursue. I wanted to make a list of pros and cons, and maybe you all could help me make the best decision. I'm truly at an impasse! I'm conflicted, because owning another horse makes me so happy, but then I also feel stressed at the thought of it.

Pros:
-Happiness!

-Getting to ride again.

-Getting to bond with an animal.

-Fulfilling a long lost and very missed passion.

-Exercise for myself.

-Having a hobby.

Cons:
-We can afford board, but we would need to be smarter with our money.

-There aren't really any good boarding places near me. I don't want my house to be far away because then I feel like it will be much more difficult for me to go and see them.

-I'm busy. Like, super busy. Many days I don't even find time to walk my dog around the neighborhood. What makes me think I'll have time for a horse?