Horse Forum
Home Forum Home Search Horses for Sale Other ClassifiedsNEW! Post an Ad Help

Go Back   Horsetopia Forum > Riding and Training > Training
Note: Forum logins are completely separate
from your Horsetopia classifieds account or wishlist.
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 12-28-2005, 08:07 PM  
Weanling Member

Anyone ever broke a mule? Getting two mules tomorrow.

Hello, I am a newbie to riding horses, well I guess horses in general since it's only been about 4yrs with minis. Anyway, I am getting two full brother haflinger mules, one almost 2 and the other almost 6mos. My plan is to ride the one-he will be my riding mule and only riding horse. The other will eventually be a good riding mule for kids and guests when he is old enough. Both need work, they are not fooled with on a regular basis so they need some gentling. My neighbor got some from the same guy and they are 6mos old, he only had them a month and they are trained to tie and come up for petting so I don't think they will be hard to gentle they are half brother haflinger mules about 6mos old. I saw and petted their mom--she is awesome, I didn't get near the jack but he is friendly too. They will be our spokesteam for our farm at the local show and my husband is going to build a buckboard wagon for him. I am also in the process of looking for a mini donk since we have three mini mares that we will breed to get mini mules and will get a smaller buckboard wagon for them.
My question is--do you train them the same as horses? and if so how old to train them being they are a draft cross should I wait until they are 3+?
Any help is appreciated. We don't have a roundpen yet but will be getting one soon. We cannot wait to pick up our boys tomorrow! I will post pics when we get them.
Stephanie
MTM Farm
MTM Farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2005, 09:10 PM  
Yearling Member