Horse Forum
Home Forum Home Search Horses for Sale Other ClassifiedsNEW! Post an Ad Help

Go Back   Horsetopia Forum > Horse Advice > Tack, Apparel and Equipment
Note: Forum logins are completely separate
from your Horsetopia classifieds account or wishlist.
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-26-2008, 05:38 PM  
Started
 
HighHorse's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: FLA
Posts: 2,908
You've got to be kidding me....

Anyone notice anything 'off' about these ads?

http://www.dailyequine.com/xcent/Cla...InCat.asp?ID=5

ETA:
These ads are all different now from when I initially posted them. The ones posted there look to be legit (for the moment)
__________________

I played with a clouded leopard

Last edited by HighHorse : 08-29-2008 at 01:21 PM.
HighHorse is offline  
Old 08-26-2008, 05:40 PM  
Greenbroke Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 3,312
Um...besides the fact that they are all way under priced and they are pictures of the same trailer.

Scammers!!!!!
Freedomnchrist is offline  
Old 08-26-2008, 05:41 PM  
Started
 
thunderbaby703's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Georgia
Posts: 2,909
Oh, where can I fine me a trailer with a price like that?????
__________________


"Never miss a good chance to shut up." -Will Rogers
thunderbaby703 is offline  
Old 08-27-2008, 08:08 AM  
Halter broke
 
Soliae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 127
I just ran into a Craigslist scam very similar to this. The trailer was listed on Nashville's craigslist.

They had a nice, virtually brand new aluminum two horse with dressing room. Said they were being deployed, must sell. $2400.

When I emailed them, they sent back a message saying the trailer was in some far off state, the price included shipping to where-ever I was, and that I had to pay through some online site that I'd never heard of before (not Paypal or anything well known).

Big red flags, there...obviously, I didn't go any further with it.
__________________

Click on the Eggs and Hatchlings to Help them Hatch and Grow!


Soliae is offline  
Old 08-27-2008, 08:14 AM  
pvf
Regional Forums Moderator
 
pvf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 6,451
These ads are all scams. The sundowner trailer is one that I had posted about earlier being a scam and it was removed from alot of sites.
I wouldn't look on that site again for a trailer since they are all scams.
__________________

www.prairieviewfarms.net Raising Reg. Paints and Quarter horses
pvf is offline  
Old 08-27-2008, 08:19 AM  
Long Yearling
 
David's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Georgia
Posts: 1,066
Boy those trailers sure do get around to be for sale in 3 different states at the same time. I will say though(having been in the Service) it is possible that the Servicemember got a deal on delivery anywhere in the U.S. and then decided to offer the trailer for sale in several different states to increase his/her chances of a quick sale. Servicemembers sometimes get good deals and sometimes have to do seemingly crazy things to make things work out. I know a Marine who is trying to sell his home right now for about 75-100,000 below it's value because he has only a couple of weeks until he is being moved from GA to PA. Obviously everyone thinks there is some drastic problem with the house because it's so low priced, when he's truly just trying to pay off the mortgage so he doesn't have to pay two mortgages when he gets to his new duty station.
__________________

"If you see your stirrups slap together above the horn, you're probably bucked off". Dave Stamey.
David is offline  
Old 08-28-2008, 10:05 PM  
Weanling Member
 
minilover101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 426
That is one thing I cannot stand...SCAMMERS!!! If they are going to do something like that, they should at least make it a little less obvious But, I am not a scammer so, I dont know what sale tactics they use.
__________________

Happy Thanksgiving...
...from all of my animal family!
minilover101 is offline  
Old 08-28-2008, 10:33 PM  
Weanling Member
 
JoesLove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 357
Send a message via AIM to JoesLove Send a message via Yahoo to JoesLove
LOL my friend bought a used 4 horse live in trailer for 80k..if she only knew she could pick one up for 5 LOL :] oh and its nice to know the 2007 and 2008 trailers look IDENTICAL!
JoesLove is offline  
Old 08-29-2008, 08:58 AM  
Started
 
GreyDot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Between AZ and OH
Posts: 2,295
Send a message via Yahoo to GreyDot
Could they be reposessed trailers? If not, then it definitely looks like a scam...
__________________
...There is nothing to be done till a horse's head is settled. ~William Cavendish
Stuipid CAN be fixed... you just have to hit it hard enough! ~A rare moment of inspiration
GreyDot is offline  
Old 08-29-2008, 12:23 PM  
Yearling Member
 
Sunlei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 950
Quote:
Originally Posted by HighHorse View Post
Anyone notice anything 'off' about these ads?

http://www.dailyequine.com/xcent/Cla...InCat.asp?ID=5

well do google searches on the phone numbers listed there and they come up to a horse pro in Ca, with saddle shops and extensive horse exp.

He may just have run a horse transport business, or horse-farm transport and be selling off all the trailers. pretty low prices but better to sell off unused trailers than let them fall to be junk.

may be some good deals there..worth a call or 2
Sunlei is offline  
Old 08-29-2008, 01:19 PM  
Started
 
HighHorse's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: FLA
Posts: 2,908
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunlei View Post
well do google searches on the phone numbers listed there and they come up to a horse pro in Ca, with saddle shops and extensive horse exp.

He may just have run a horse transport business, or horse-farm transport and be selling off all the trailers. pretty low prices but better to sell off unused trailers than let them fall to be junk.

may be some good deals there..worth a call or 2
The ads listed there now are not the same. I am going to request this thread be closed, because it doesn't make any sense, now.
__________________

I played with a clouded leopard
HighHorse is offline  
Closed Thread

  Horsetopia Forum > Horse Advice > Tack, Apparel and Equipment


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is he kidding me????? Sandy_llg Horse Stories 11 04-16-2008 01:14 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:41 PM.


Board Powered by vBuletin ® Copyright © 2000 - 2007 Jel Soft

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0