Horse Forum
Home Forum Home Search Horses for Sale Other ClassifiedsNEW! Post an Ad Help

Go Back   Horsetopia Forum > Horse Advice > Tack, Apparel and Equipment
Note: Forum logins are completely separate
from your Horsetopia classifieds account or wishlist.
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-08-2008, 08:42 PM  
Weanling Member
 
jamied99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New Kensington PA
Posts: 422
Did I get an OK price on this saddle?

I just bought this on Ebay in the last few seconds:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...MEWN:IT&ih=019

I know it is not THE Billy Cook, but the Longhorn version. I actually have a Longhorn saddle that I like very much.

I think this was an ok deal, especially since she didn't do a very good job of listing it. If it doesn't fit my horse, do you think I can get my money back out of it reselling?

Oh, and I kinda got a chuckle out of the "Saddle Seat" reference to the stand!
jamied99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2008, 08:48 PM  
Seasoned
 
Thunderz Gurlz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South West Michigan
Posts: 4,867
Send a message via AIM to Thunderz Gurlz Send a message via Yahoo to Thunderz Gurlz
That does NOT look like a billy cook.... In less there quility went WAY down.
__________________
"Don't be afraid to go after what you want to do and what you want to be. But don't be afraid to be willing to pay the price"
Thunderz Gurlz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2008, 08:50 PM  
Weanling Member
 
jamied99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New Kensington PA
Posts: 422
From what I've learned on here there are two Billy Cooks, THE Billy Cook from OK, and the ones made in Texas by Longhorn, which I didn't think Longhorn was bad quality??
jamied99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2008, 09:05 PM  
Greenbroke Member
 
PaintsQH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: FLORIDA
Posts: 3,664
I think its misleading. Im just wondering how she can sell it as a Billy Cook saddle when its not really a Billy Cook, but maybe her friend down the street named Billy Cook that she is selling the saddle for

I would ask about her return policy. The seller has 0 feedback so you really having nothing to go on. Sometimes the saddle's with alot of fleece are hard to fit unless you have an ultra thin pad.

I just read the saddle seat not included. How funny. Guess its removable
__________________
Angels descending, bring from above,
Echoes of mercy, whispers of love.


Last edited by PaintsQH : 05-08-2008 at 09:08 PM.
PaintsQH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2008, 09:11 PM  
Pasture Pet
 
ToveroMom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland TX
Posts: 17,059
She can call it that because it IS one.
Longhorn Potts bought out Billy Cook a long time ago.
They OWN Billy Cook.
I think she meant the pink saddle rack does not go with it.
__________________
ToveroMom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2008, 09:14 PM  
Yearling Member
 
SheZAAM!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Denver
Posts: 604
It was explained to me that the Longhorn people bought BC and had a non-compete clause for a few years. Then BC was able to start making saddles again, but they can only sell the BC name once in their lifetime. So now there are 2 BC's: the Longhorns in Texas and the original BC in Oklahoma.
SheZAAM! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2008, 09:19 PM  
Pasture Pet
 
ToveroMom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland TX
Posts: 17,059
Longhorn Potts has a very good reputation. billy Cooks out of OK were recently made famous when they were raidied and 60 plus illegal alians were deported from their OK plant.
I have seen both the OK and TX BC saddles and the TX ones are as good as the others.
There are actually lots of brands considered even better than the Billy Cooks...
__________________
ToveroMom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2008, 09:24 PM  
Yearling Member
 
sherriawright's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Pekin, Illinois
Posts: 628
I am not much into name brands, I think you are paying for the name more then anything else, JMHO however. From looking at the saddle, it looks like a good saddle and well worth the money.
__________________
Illinois, where our Governors make our license plates!
sherriawright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2008, 09:25 PM  
Long Yearling
 
carmor07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: tn.
Posts: 1,221
Oh,my daughter would kill for that saddle.
carmor07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2008, 09:36 PM  
Greenbroke Member
 
calicocalgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: inbetweenhere&there, Pa
Posts: 3,462
I have seen 2 of these saddles at shows. Both people like them and they look like good quality. That's a great price. I would be more concerned about the sellers lack of feedback in almost 2 yrs than in the quality of the saddle. I have no feedback sellers, you just never know.
calicocalgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2008, 10:06 PM  
Weanling Member
 
jamied99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New Kensington PA
Posts: 422
I'm a little concerned too, but if I use my CC through Paypal I can always do a chargeback and get my money back if she doesn't deliver. However, she has been answering her emails, so I don't think it is her intention not to follow through, I think it is just the case of someone making an ebay account and never using it.

So the consensus is that it should be an OK saddle?
jamied99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2008, 10:15 PM  
Newborn Member
 
madvoice's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 43
For the price you paid and what you've got that's quite a reasonable buy. It may not be the high end quality of Billy Cook saddles but its still worth what you paid for it.
madvoice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2008, 11:09 PM  
Coming two
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,623
That does not look like a LH or BC saddle at all. Just the quality and design. Did you ask for any pictures of marks or proof that it's a LH saddle?It looks extremely low quality, like a Double T saddle or something along those lines.
Being a Ebayer for that long with 0 feedback and only 1 listing worries me. Maybe if she was newer, ok, but never know.
AQHBarrelRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 05:28 AM  
Pasture Pet
 
ToveroMom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland TX
Posts: 17,059
Yes it sure is a BC and it looks fine to me-it is a great price and if you use your CC thru paypal you are more protected.
she does only have a one feedback-but sometimes folks just start out.
On the fact it it S a BC and you got a great price..I can.
BTW
http://www.barrelhorseworld.com/tackdetail.asp?ID=7382
__________________
ToveroMom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 07:27 AM  
Kid Safe
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,538
It sure is eye catching

around here,a cheap used saddle still goes for $200, I think you will be able to use it for awhile and thats all you can ask
DoBeSassy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 07:29 AM  
Seasoned
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 4,001
It seems you bot the story along with the cosmetics. Billy Cooks have a metal name plate on the seat. None here. Did you ask what the tree was made of? (the all important question).
Slim Pikkens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 07:32 AM  
Greenbroke Member
 
dodib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ravenna, MI
Posts: 3,183
I think it looks like a decent saddle for the price--billy cook or not
__________________
Dorthy
www.freewebs.com/brownranch/
dodib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 07:47 AM  
Weanling Member
 
jamied99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New Kensington PA
Posts: 422
So, I decided to do some google research and I think it is like these saddles, all with the Billy Cook / Longhorn name:

http://www.horsies.com/longhorn/barrelb.html

http://www.chicksaddlery.com/page/CDS/PROD/COOK/BC1051

http://www.amazon.com/Billy-Cook-Sca.../dp/B000KI7NG6


I guess I should have not bid, but the last few seconds of the auction adrenaline hit.
jamied99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 08:13 AM  
Kid Safe
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,538
I think you did fine.
DoBeSassy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 08:33 AM  
Pasture Pet
 
cameo05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: In my own world
Posts: 12,321
There is nothing wrong with that saddle. It is a good looking saddle and it looks really well built. That is a great price on it too.
__________________

Life is a bed of roses, until you meet up with thorns.
cameo05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

  Horsetopia Forum > Horse Advice > Tack, Apparel and Equipment


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Price of Saddle?? PICS bfoley Tack, Apparel and Equipment 11 12-03-2007 05:34 PM
right price for saddle? Palomino06 Tack, Apparel and Equipment 5 03-18-2007 02:52 PM
Price for saddle Shalamar Tack, Apparel and Equipment 5 01-21-2007 08:42 PM
saddle price? cascy Tack, Apparel and Equipment 8 08-13-2006 04:27 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:56 PM.


Board Powered by vBuletin ® Copyright © 2000 - 2007 Jel Soft

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0