Horse Forum
Home Forum Home Search Horses for Sale Other ClassifiedsNEW! Post an Ad Help

Go Back   Horsetopia Forum > Horse Advice > Tack, Apparel and Equipment
Note: Forum logins are completely separate
from your Horsetopia classifieds account or wishlist.
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 10-27-2011, 08:58 PM  
Newborn Member

Saddle pads

With so many saddle pads out there, what is the best type of material used in a saddle pad (felt, fleece, gel, or foam) and why? I have some thoughts, but I like to hear others opinion before I make a broad and probably uneducated statement.
Old 10-28-2011, 05:36 AM  
Started

I'm no expert by any means ... but I know what I like and what works for me. I prefer felt. I just bought a CSI pad. Quite pricey and I can't believe I splurged like that, but I just have to say === I LOVE IT!!! I know there are less expensive felt pads but I have a hard to fit wide paint and he was showing signs (white hairs) of a pressure point on one side. I'm hoping this pad will rectify the problem. Of course, for as much as I paid for the pad, I probably could have almost bought a new saddle but I love my Billy Cook saddle and it's pretty close to perfect for him.

I've also used a neoprene pad and I like it too but not as well as felt.

There's more to life than horses ----- but NOT much!

Valerie62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 06:49 AM  
Weanling Member

well for me, it partially depends on the weather and what not. right now (meaning warmer weather) i have felt-lightweight, and have used foam. in the colder weather-like today at 29 degrees this morn- i feel better with the fleece. i feel like fleece can be so much warmer so it helps not only the horse but ME when its cold!!! my butt gets cold lol.
obviously it also depends on the fit for the horse...granted pads are not quite as uncomfy as an unfitted saddle, but they can cause their issues as well