Horsetopia Forum

Horsetopia Forum (http://forum.horsetopia.com/index.php)
-   Tack, Apparel and Equipment (http://forum.horsetopia.com/tack-apparel-equipment-15/)
-   -   New to Spurs! Please help! (http://forum.horsetopia.com/tack-apparel-equipment/124492-new-spurs-please-help.html)

StefanieLeann14 06-03-2010 08:45 AM

New to Spurs! Please help!

Long story short I bought a horse that has a few little issues. Mainly laziness and trying to get out of doing things. When I correct him he is pretty quick to listen. No blow ups yet *Knock on wood*. A friend suggested using spurs because I am not too good with a riding crop. It's awkward to me. Well I tried a pair of her spurs and every time I tap him with them he sort of jumps in place like he doesn't know what they are or what I want him to do.

Should I have someone lead him and when I want him to go faster tap him so maybe he will make the connection? Should I just wear them and eventually he will get used to them? What kind should I get? I want the mildest kind I can get. Please help me out!

tippy71 06-03-2010 09:03 AM

before you wear spurs make sure that you have total control of your lower legs you could accidentally jab your horse without realizing it the mildest spur that I can think of are the ones that the english riders use they have either a ball on the end or are just blunt on the end. any spur just like with any bit can be used harshly in the wrong hands or on the wrong feet. good luck

StefanieLeann14 06-03-2010 09:09 AM

I don't think I would have a problem with jabbing him by accident. I tend to keep my feet out more than I should anyways. I would need western spurs. The blunter rowels would be less harsh right?

PaladinCentaur 06-03-2010 09:36 AM