Horse Forum
Home Forum Home Search Horses for Sale Other ClassifiedsNEW! Post an Ad Help

Go Back   Horsetopia Forum > Horse Advice > Long Ear Chat
Note: Forum logins are completely separate
from your Horsetopia classifieds account or wishlist.
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 02-08-2012, 03:12 PM  
Newborn Member

Equine Emergency Supplies

Hello! As I am new at this, I am soliciting advice from all of the experts here. What should I have on hand for my two, soon to be three, little donks in case of emergencies? (Not that we are EVER going to have any of those!) Suggestions? What do you keep in your arsenal? Thanks!
"Ellison likes that donkeys demand he be soft and tender with them, which he said goes against his male tendencies. He said working with donkeys reminds him how he should treat his family." - Long Ear Donkey Rescue
krisrenee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 05:33 PM  
Halter broke

the most important thing we have is a stomch tube and pump along with several gallons of mineral oil. Also acepromazine, dipyrone,bute ,electrolytes,and . . dexamethasone. we keep suture material for stitching wounds. the colic treatment is the most important thing you can learn to do. At the first sign of distress or even if they`re just off thier feed we tube them with 1 gallon mineral oil,1 galon warm soapy water with a hand full of electrolytes added.They also get 3 or 4 cc ace I V and 20cc dipyrone 10 IV and 10 IM. Themost important thing with colic is timing. By the time most people recognise the symptoms and finally decide to get them to the vetmany are to far gone to save. If the animal is not having tru colic or a blockage the treatment will do no harm .
jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 05:52 PM  
Newborn Member

thanks Jerry!