Horse Forum
Home Forum Home Search Horses for Sale Other ClassifiedsNEW! Post an Ad Help

Go Back   Horsetopia Forum > Forum Rules and Introductions > Horsetopia
Note: Forum logins are completely separate
from your Horsetopia classifieds account or wishlist.
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-19-2009, 10:32 AM  
Long Yearling
 
CowhorseGal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Idaho
Posts: 1,048
Angry very agrivating!!!!

Ok so I do my regular morning search of horses for sale.. advanced search: within 300 miles of my zip code.. 5 horses come up.. all are scams... These guys are out of control!!!
There needs to be a crew of people that hunt these guys down cut off their fingers ( so they can't type)....
__________________

Quality Peformance horses with foundation breeding
http://blackcanyonpaints.webs.com/
CowhorseGal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 10:35 AM  
Started
 
redboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Eastern Shore of Maryland
Posts: 2,766
Quote:
Originally Posted by CowhorseGal View Post
Ok so I do my regular morning search of horses for sale.. advanced search: within 300 miles of my zip code.. 5 horses come up.. all are scams... These guys are out of control!!!
There needs to be a crew of people that hunt these guys down cut off their fingers ( so they can't type)....
I see this a lot also, with trailers, and horses.
What's the point of posting an ad that isn't even real??
Just wondering?
Does the poster get certain, personal information from people who respond??
redboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 01:00 PM  
Halter broke
 
klattekm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 136
Send a message via AIM to klattekm Send a message via Yahoo to klattekm
The purpose is to find some gullible newbie to horses that finds a dream come true. They then take their money and run. Sad times. I agree there should be someone to find these people and hunt them down.
klattekm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 01:34 PM  
Halter broke
 
LoveMyHorse18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Shepherd, MI
Posts: 74
IF you dont mind me asking, can you determine scam?
Like, an example or something?
Kinda worried here
__________________
Without downs in life, we'd never learn to appreciate the ups!
LoveMyHorse18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 04:38 PM  
Long Yearling
 
CowhorseGal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Idaho
Posts: 1,048
I am not really sure what the point is..except to get someone to send them money and then they don't deliver/produce the horse.. these guys are a dead give away to me.. the verbage they use will be from different disciplines, or not even from the equine industry.. when you look up their other horses they will have the same horse listed in all 50 states!

Link removed by Admin. HT rules preclude posting links to ads that are not your own or if you are not seriously considering purchasing said horse.
__________________

Quality Peformance horses with foundation breeding
http://blackcanyonpaints.webs.com/
CowhorseGal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 04:43 PM  
Long Yearling
 
CowhorseGal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Idaho
Posts: 1,048
Here are some more
Link removed by Admin. HT rules preclude posting links to ads that are not your own or if you are not seriously considering purchasing said horse.


If you question ad, just look at their other ads.. when one poster has ads from a bunch of different states,, and the ads are for the same horse.. pretty much a giveaway to me...
__________________

Quality Peformance horses with foundation breeding
http://blackcanyonpaints.webs.com/
CowhorseGal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 06:21 PM  
Halter broke
 
chery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: apple valley, ca
Posts: 97
yea we get them everyday for fresians, like 10 different ones a day! even some with pics, and they are alway for sale for 1,500
__________________
Three barrels, two hearts, one dream!
chery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 07:04 PM  
Long Yearling
 
CowhorseGal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Idaho
Posts: 1,048
Great price for a fresian!! I think I'll buy 'em all!!!
__________________

Quality Peformance horses with foundation breeding
http://blackcanyonpaints.webs.com/
CowhorseGal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 09:13 PM  
Halter broke
 
green.willow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: nowhere
Posts: 108
Just makes me so mad

Watch out for ads that look like they were cut and pasted together from a number of other peoples' ads. Another tip-off is badly put together sentences along with missing plurals, confused suffixes and really bad punctuation. If you are unsure, read the ad out loud. Does it sound like an American speaking? (Presuming, of course, the horse is in America.) These scam artist post dogs on Craigslist all the time. They are just evil.
green.willow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 08:25 AM  
Yearling Member
 
Mister's Mom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 627
Quote:
Originally Posted by chery View Post
yea we get them everyday for fresians, like 10 different ones a day! even some with pics, and they are alway for sale for 1,500
I've found it's not just Friesians anymore - lots of QH scam ads too now...I agree, very aggravating!
Mister's Mom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 08:28 AM  
Long Yearling
 
Gramma Sassy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 1,296
My personal favorite was the kid broke Friesian gelding, young, spirited and trained in all disciplines, bargain price as they are relocating.... this Friesian gelding is of magnificent bloodlines and she can provide you with many beautiful colts...

yeah, and I bet last year's foal sold to a wealthy oil potentate...


unfortunately, not all of them are worded with such transparency. I talked to a young man at my cuz's barn the other day. He has purchaded a 4 hourse slant with lq from someone in Ohio.... The price was waaaaayyy low and I sure hope it is still there when he goes to pick it up!
__________________
~God is good, but tiz best not to dance in a small boat~

VOTE FOR "DUSTY TRAILS HORSE RESCUE" DAILY IN THE PETFINDER SHELTER CHALLENGE!
http://www.theanimalrescuesite.com/c...faces?siteId=3
Gramma Sassy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 11:31 PM  
Weanling Member
 
enchanting's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 202
Just got something that I consider to be a fake email about two horses I have for sale for friends. I got the identical response to both ads, here is what it said.

"horse still available?and what is the price and condition rnrn????If yesplease get me back on my email: rnrnxxxxxxxxxx@gmail.com.... Lookingforward to hearing from rnrnyou soonest.xxxxxx"

The two horses are very different, so I don't think it would have been that a search was done and both came up in it. One is an 8 yr old broodmare that was never broke, the other is a 9 yr old POA gelding that is broke for an experienced rider. I have a total of 5 ads on the website the replies came from two stud ads and three for sale ads. These two horses were each listed under $1000, where the other one is listed above that amount, so maybe it was the price that led to both being emailed about.

What is your opinion of the reply?
__________________
Enchanting Acres Appaloosas
www.enchantingacres.com
enchanting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 12:57 PM  
Long Yearling
 
CowhorseGal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Idaho
Posts: 1,048
I think they are scams.. to me if it was one person asking about multiple horses you have listed.. they would mention them in one email..
__________________

Quality Peformance horses with foundation breeding
http://blackcanyonpaints.webs.com/
CowhorseGal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2009, 06:00 PM  
Newborn Member
 
razorbackranch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Immokalee, Florida
Posts: 31
It's just as bad on horseclicks.com too....I've gotten 5 scam e-mails in the past day ! It's annoying when you're trying to buy or sell a horse I defnitely agree with you
__________________
Always remember with riding or training.....
You tell a gelding,
make a stallion
anddiscuss it with a mare
razorbackranch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2009, 10:16 PM  
Greenbroke Member
 
PaintsQH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: FLORIDA
Posts: 3,680
You can pretty much tell by the email you get when you have something for sale. You have more than enough pictures, a video and detailed info but get asked for more pictures and a video
I also love the ones for an unbroke horse for their 3yr old child to "learn" on and go trail riding. Alrighty then.........
__________________
Angels descending, bring from above,
Echoes of mercy, whispers of love.

PaintsQH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

  Horsetopia Forum > Forum Rules and Introductions > Horsetopia


Thread Tools



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:43 AM.


Board Powered by vBuletin ® Copyright © 2000 - 2007 Jel Soft

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0