Horse Forum
Home Forum Home Search Horses for Sale Other ClassifiedsNEW! Post an Ad Help

Go Back   Horsetopia Forum > Horse Advice > Health & Nutrition
Note: Forum logins are completely separate
from your Horsetopia classifieds account or wishlist.
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-20-2007, 08:26 AM  
Long Yearling

Anyone feeding Nutrena Safechoice and having issues???

Ok, now I've been feeding this grain for a few years now and my horses do GREAT on it. However since about December or so we've noticed that sometimes they will not finish their grain, and lately we found out why. There are clumps of moist grain in there(this is a dry pelleted grain) and so it must be moldy. We noticed this after our horses completely refused to eat it and became very lathargic and had the runs!!!! So we ended up returning 3 bags to the dealer, he said they don't store that much there and only get a pallet at a time in so it doesn't sit to long, I know it's not us, because we just bought 2 more bags yesterday and brought it home and opened it and you didn't have to dig around to find these clumps in there. So they too are going right back. I've emailed Nutrena about this but have not heard back, should I call them? Is anyone else having issues with Nutrena grain. Our dealer thought it had to be coming from them directly, as he said he only gets in a pallet of it at a time and that's usually once a month he said.
cindyf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2007, 08:32 AM  
Greenbroke Member

We had some customers on Safe Choice (from another dealer) and they had some problems with the horses going off feed. They came in to us and put their horses all on Purina Ultium.
calicocalgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2007, 08:46 AM  
Yearling Member