Horse Forum
Home Forum Home Search Horses for Sale Other ClassifiedsNEW! Post an Ad Help

Go Back   Horsetopia Forum > Horse Advice > Health & Nutrition
Note: Forum logins are completely separate
from your Horsetopia classifieds account or wishlist.
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 11-01-2006, 09:19 AM  
Rev
Halter broke

Milk Weed in Hay

I am not good at knowing which plants are poisonous. There has been some milk weed in the hay that I have been buying. Should I be concerned? I figured the HT crew would know!
Rev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2006, 09:22 AM  
Weanling Member

I am under the impression that milk weed is poisonous. If that is the case, I hope all your horses are fine.
SCGaiter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2006, 09:25 AM  
Rev
Halter broke

They have been eating the hay and seem fine, and they seem to leave the milf weed, so that is good, I am just not sure about taking the chance if it is poisonous. Thanks
Old 11-01-2006, 09:46 AM  
Yearling Member

Stupid question here
Why would your feed store sell hay with milkweed in it?

I would take the bales back or call the feed store. or is this hay that you are baling yourself?
Old 11-01-2006, 09:49 AM  
Yearling Member

plants in North America

check out this list of plants

http://www.whmentors.org/saf/poison.html
Old 11-01-2006, 09:54 AM  
Kid Safe

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Pudue School of Veterinary Meicine's website
26. MILKWEEDS

Asclepias spp.

(milkweed family)

TOXICITY RATING: Low to moderate. Milkweeds are unpalatable, and have variable toxicities. Death is not likely unless large quantities are consumed.

ANIMALS AFFECTED: All animals may be affected. Sheep are most at risk, but cattle, goats, horses, poultry, and pets are also at risk.

DANGEROUS PARTS OF PLANT: Stems, leaves, roots.