Horse Forum
Home Forum Home Search Horses for Sale Other ClassifiedsNEW! Post an Ad Help

Go Back   Horsetopia Forum > Horse Advice > Health & Nutrition
Note: Forum logins are completely separate
from your Horsetopia classifieds account or wishlist.
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 11-09-2010, 03:25 PM  
Newborn Member

Beet Pulp Questions

I am feeding my horse 1 RED FOLGERS COFFEE Tub (Weighs about 4 LBS when expanded) full of beet pulp with 1/2 cup of rice bran oil and one mineral supplement. He always has a salt block and tons of water.

> TWICE PER DAY - Morning and Night

is that too much? How much beet pulp is the right amount?

Hes not gaining weight.

I have been feeding him this for two months. and it was a gradual feed. I did not feed him this all at once.

He has never had diarrhea, but now he has a little bit runny poop but its not consistent every day. little bits here and there.

any feedback is much appreciated. thank you.
shaneensmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 03:43 PM  
Coming two

Beet pulp by itself will not put the weight on. Try mixing it with some soaked alfalfa cubes/pellets and some rice bran. Or mix it with a quality horse pellet.
missa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 03:56 PM  
Coming two

If beet pulp is the only thing you are feeding him, he's not going to gain much weight. Beet pulp is mainly a fiber supplement. Beet pulp does not have a whole lot of dietary value. I use it only to replace the forage fiber in my horses who do not get hay.
How old is the horse? What are his daily exercise amounts?