Horse Forum
Home Forum Home Search Horses for Sale Other ClassifiedsNEW! Post an Ad Help

Go Back   Horsetopia Forum > Horse Advice > Health & Nutrition
Note: Forum logins are completely separate
from your Horsetopia classifieds account or wishlist.
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 12-17-2009, 12:45 PM  
Halter broke

Question Have you fed Alfalfa oat hay to your horses?

I just got lined up for the winter with alfalfa oat hay very good hay keeps them full and nice during the cold winter.
But I was wondering if any of you fed it because a few of my horse's have loose stool with it.

They are still eating it and drinking normal but don't have very formed stools. I was wondering if any of you had this problem and if it pass's or to feed them in a feeder so they don't try to get the oats out of the mud or any advice. I have never tried this hay before but really like it. And so do they.
Thank you.
Goforcolor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2009, 02:26 PM  
Seasoned

Do you mean alfalfa hay mixed with oat straw in one bale?
Red Gate Farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2009, 03:06 PM  
Long Yearling

I think she means alfalfa with the oat hay mixed in.. it is cut and baled with the heads of oat still on and while the plant is still green.. kind of like grass hay.. Oat straw is a by product of an oat crop that is cut and baled after it is dried out standing and the oats heads are removed ..

My experience with oat hay rather straight or mixed is loose stools.. It's really not a very good horse hay. meant more for cows.. It is high in fiber and not a lot of nutrional value except for the oat heads..

ranchers in my area will feed oat hay to thier cows during the winter to help the animals keep warm..

Quality Peformance horses with foundation breeding
http://blackcanyonpaints.webs.com/
CowhorseGal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2009, 03:41 PM  
Started