![]() |
Horse Forum |
|||||||
|
||||||||
|
Note: Forum logins are completely separate from your Horsetopia classifieds account or wishlist. |
||||||
![]() |
|
|
Thread Tools |
|
|
|
|
Weanling Member
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 494
|
well heres some horses she has for sale: http://www.equinenow.com/farm/star_bound_stables.htm i dont think its a scam?
__________________
Merry Christmas!
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Started
|
The scams are getting better an better, and I am the most gullible idiot, so I just wanted to double check. My mom isn't a horseperson and doesn't understand the type of things that horsepeople ask when buying a horse - she thinks that when they ask about the paws of a horse they are legit.
Well, I'll give her a chance and see if she likes him.
__________________
Owned by Rocketman, a 17 year old AQHA and Stormy, a 10 year old Peruvian Paso x Arab |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Yearling Member
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NC (Asheville)
Posts: 856
|
Well I don't think it's a scam, so much, but there are two things that are really standing out as not really being great. One, she's got horses for sale. So, I have to doubt she wants Mac as her own horse for any amount of time. Second, you're in California, she's in Florida. You're not likely to be able to go see him again, that is one heck of a long way to ship a horse, and it kind of makes for a difficult choice.
You will know what is right for Mac. Maybe she is okay and you'll find that out and tell me how wrong I am (I don't mind, I'm often wrong).
__________________
My sanity is with my horse, and if you see them, please send them back to the barn. Tule Pepper
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Yearling Member
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Colorado
Posts: 523
|
I dont think its a scam, but under her listing of the horses, she said she has to get some of the horses sold because they are just sitting there, because she had a car accident- I would say no go- not cuz of a scam, just doesnt sound like the right home for him.
There has to be someone closer also-
__________________
Suzie Q |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Yearling Member
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NC (Asheville)
Posts: 856
|
Oh that's the best!! I'll send GOOD THOUGHTS that Mac goes to the neighbor!
(I was just about to start another post begging you NOT to sell to this other person...LOL...not that it would have done any good, but you've got it all under control!)
__________________
My sanity is with my horse, and if you see them, please send them back to the barn. Tule Pepper
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Yearling Member
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 950
|
A reseller perhaps but not a scam. I don't know what price you're selling at. Could be a low enough price and if you're willing to wait a month so her transporter will be in your area, this saves her more money to sell him before he needs to travel. She may buy him or many of the other nice horse she's sent this email too.
Your selling price may be to low. if resellers see additional profit to be made off your horse. Hey, I edited because I read your neighbor may take your horse. That's great you will be able to visit him, hope that works out for you. Last edited by Sunlei : 09-06-2008 at 06:21 PM. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Greenbroke Member
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Shytown, IL
Posts: 3,459
|
The "will you hold him for a month" sounds shady. Maybe it's not the traditional nigerian money order thing, but I have heard of people advertising other people's horses before.
Buyer begs to hold horse, maybe with\without deposit. Buyer begins advertising horse for more than offered to seller. As soon as buyer gets another interested person, buyer comes to pick up horse. Buyer has either zero investment, or gives up the small deposit. If no other interest, buyer may beg for extra time, dragging it out. Meanwhile buyer is not out anything, but the seller is out the feed and stopped advertising the horse for the duration. I'm NOT saying I have any personal experience with this particular person nor this particular scheme. Just describing what I've heard of.
__________________
Yes I can spell the way Webster tells me to. But why? I might spell correctly Tuesday thru Wensday tho.
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Greenbroke Member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: albany new york
Posts: 3,243
|
it does not make sense to me that she would be willing to buy and ship a $600.00 horse unless she has a customer looking for that particular horse for more money.
Sell local to your neighbor., hope it all works out.,
__________________
![]() www.rainbow-horse-retirement.com We love and take care of your companion for the remainder of his lifetime |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Yearling Member
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 873
|
Doubt it is a scam. To well written, proper grammer for the most part and spelling is great. Plus they didn't ask you for "last asking price" or you name, phone number and address so they know where to send the cashiers check to.
Sound like an actual buyer who is interested in your horse. Good luck with it.
__________________
I love the smell of horse's in the morning. ![]() WRERS: Edmonton Based Horse Rescue. www.albertahorserescue.com |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Pasture Pet
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland TX
Posts: 15,296
|
Just odd to buy a horse that cheap-with his back issue-only to double the cost[at least] to ship him to FL.
glad you have a local nibble
__________________
![]() "In America,anyone can be President. That is one of the chances you take" Adlai Stevenson |
|
|
|
![]() |
|
| Thread Tools | |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Scam? | royaldakotabreez | Tack, Apparel and Equipment | 15 | 08-07-2008 07:55 PM |
| Scam??? | cascy | Dogs | 19 | 09-23-2007 11:19 AM |