Horse Forum
Home Forum Home Search Horses for Sale Other ClassifiedsNEW! Post an Ad Help

Go Back   Horsetopia Forum > Farm and Other Animal Talk > Farm Animal
Note: Forum logins are completely separate
from your Horsetopia classifieds account or wishlist.
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 04-09-2007, 02:43 PM  
Coming two

Halter Breaking Cattle...

I have been showing cattle for about ten years or so. I usually hand break mine but I have been told a lot of people either use donkeys to break their show cattle or just tie them up for a few hours (supervised of course) then lead them to water or eat. My problem is when I first start breaking my calves and try to tie them up they pull the halters so tight on their faces it wears the hair off. I am afraid that it might cause sores if I keep tying them. Does anyone have this problem or have any ideas about what I could do so they arent pulling directly on the halter?
StefanieLeann14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2007, 02:44 PM  
Pasture Pet

Ah, you need to speak with QuarterCowGirl - she is the Bovine Master...

If you believe what you like in the Gospel, and reject what you don't like, it is not the Gospel you believe, but yourself." Augustine of Hippo
gbarmranch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2007, 02:46 PM  
Coming two

I thought about that while I was posting lol. I was kind of hoping she would respond. Have you ever had any problems like this with any of your foals?
Old 04-09-2007, 02:48 PM  
Pasture Pet

No, because we don't tie them until they learn to give to pressure by leading.. and then we use the CA tie ring - it might work with cows too

If you believe what you like in the Gospel, and reject what you don't like, it is not the Gospel you believe, but yourself." Augustine of Hippo
gbarmranch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2007, 02:54 PM  
Coming two