![]() |
Horse Forum |
|||||||
|
||||||||
|
Note: Forum logins are completely separate from your Horsetopia classifieds account or wishlist. |
||||||
![]() |
|
|
Thread Tools |
|
|
|
|
Halter broke
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ironton
Posts: 59
|
Nope but if he is papered then I would go to www.allbreedpedigree.com and see if he is registers and see what it says about him...
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Greenbroke Member
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Alberta
Posts: 3,263
|
http://www.allbreedpedigree.com/mr+im+black From there, it says "2007 AQHA World Show - Top Ten OPEN 3yo Stallions"
Ewww... looks like he'd have a good chance of being HYPP N/H at least
__________________
Some people say horses don't have a sense of humor... they obviously haven't met mine yet ;o)
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Halter broke
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sunny South Beach~~
Posts: 71
|
oopsies
Wrong horse on all breed, this is his sire, not Mr Black. -->http://www.bramblettquarterhorses.co...sblackgold.htm
Sad that they are breeding him to produce more hypp horses Last edited by SpotsNGlory : 08-05-2008 at 02:11 PM. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Started
|
All breed pedigree even says he is N/H.
His pedigree is great, very nice lines, great color.
__________________
www.risingwaterqh.com RISING WATER QUARTER HORSES Home of World and Reserve World Champions AQHA/ABRA/IBHA |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Newborn Member
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: texas
Posts: 29
|
I was looking at a filly by him, she has a good build and she is black like him. They’re selling her for 150 and I was thinking of a resale project, but I did not know about the HYPP status the owners said nothing about that and I did not think to ask because I have never heard of him. That’s why I came here. So yall are right I will pass on her.
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Administrator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 29,218
|
Ask about her status first - she has a 25% chance of not being N/H if her dam was N/N... but I wouldn't consider her if she wasn't tested..
What a shame - he is gorgeous and wonderfully bred..
__________________
Quality FoundationQuarter Horses http://home.earthlink.net/~vpgann Minds are like parachutes – they only function when open – Thomas Dewar |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Newborn Member
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: texas
Posts: 29
|
No, they have not tested her. I called and asked about the stallion having it and the filly having it and they said that it is unlikely that she is a carrier. And for me that is not a good enough answer, just assuming that the horse dose not have it. So I will pass, there is no reason to support people who intentionally produce horses with this disease IMO.
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Administrator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 29,218
|
I would too if that is their attitude.. how sad..
__________________
Quality FoundationQuarter Horses http://home.earthlink.net/~vpgann Minds are like parachutes – they only function when open – Thomas Dewar |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Halter broke
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sunny South Beach~~
Posts: 71
|
well...look on the website that I've provided on the stallion's info. 99% of their horses bred are N/H Stallions and N/H broodmares Only 2 of the 9 or so stallions[didnt count] listed on their front page are N/N....I would never buy any horses off them considering they only breed NH defectives..I say pass on the filly if she's from this ranch....
Do you have the mares registered name? I can look it up and see if she is NH. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Started
|
That IS a pretty stallion - and I'm not even a Q/H person! Question, though... you'd do a pre-purchase, right? Why could that pre-purchase not also involve a test for HYPP? If the filly is N/N, then she'd make a heck of a horse - and if she does carry, then it's pretty much like any other failed pre-purchase... Or would the breeder not allow it? Just a thought, anyway...
__________________
...There is nothing to be done till a horse's head is settled. ~William CavendishStuipid CAN be fixed... you just have to hit it hard enough! ~A rare moment of inspiration
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Newborn Member
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: texas
Posts: 29
|
She is not from that ranch, someone here in Texas owns her. They just used that stallion. With it being something so major and the owners not cooperating and blowing it off I am no longer interested. When I was asking about it they just blew it off. Personally I think that it is odd that they would breed to a horse with a $1000 stud fee and sell the offspring for $150 neg. Also when I brought up the fact that she could have it they got uncomfortable, I think they had her tested and she was positive and now they want to dump her and that why they avoid the subject and say “ oh…. the stallion dose have it but she wont” they cant know that, they supposedly have not tested her.
|
|
|
|