Horse Forum
Home Forum Home Search Horses for Sale Other ClassifiedsNEW! Post an Ad Help

Go Back   Horsetopia Forum > Horse Advice > Breeding & Genetics
Note: Forum logins are completely separate
from your Horsetopia classifieds account or wishlist.
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 10-18-2005, 08:10 PM  
Coming two

"Linebreeding" vs. "Inbreeding"

What would you consider linebreeding, and what would you consider inbreeding? I know that linebreeding is generally considered a good thing, but how far can you take it? I have seen horses bred to their half siblings, to their sire or dam's siblings, etc.... what is okay? What are the risks involved?

Lily
Old 10-18-2005, 09:31 PM  
Bombproof Member

I studied this topic in college for what seemed to be FOREVER! I'll look in my books tomorrow and and post whatever I can find about it!
Old 10-18-2005, 09:41 PM  
Coming two

I don't know the particulars on this subject, but it happens a lot with minis. I own horses who are related and would never dream of breeding them to one another. Animals in the wild who breed with siblings etc. Nature takes care of their offspring on her own I don't want to tamper with mother nature too much. So, I don't like to see a horses name more that twice on papers. But, thats just me. I would like to however hear the particulars on this subject! Good topic Tiggy
Old 10-18-2005, 10:33 PM  
Long Yearling

Send a message via MSN to mellowdane